2024 Workshop on Biological Control Systems


Dear colleagues,

We are excited to invite you to the 2024 Workshop on Biological Control Systems, taking place on November 13th (Wednesday). This one-day workshop is entirely online and free to attend, focusing on the practical application, development, and use of control-theoretic tools for systems and synthetic biology.

This workshop offers a unique chance to stay updated on the latest advancements in this rapidly evolving field and connect with experts across theory and experimentation.

Our keynote speakers include:

- Prof. Domitilla Del Vecchio, MIT, USA

- Prof. Mary Dunlop, Boston University, USA

- Prof. Georg Seelig, Washington University, USA


We welcome submissions of abstracts for 20-minute oral presentations and posters covering:

- Synthetic biological control systems in vivo, in vitro, and in silico

- New theories for modeling, controlling, and analyzing biological systems, including noisy systems

- Advances in biotechnological and modeling tools for synthetic biology

- Theoretical constraints and trade-offs in biological control systems

- Emerging applications of modeling and control in biotechnology, bioprocessing, health, ecology, and beyond.


To submit your research, please fill out the form on our website. The submission deadlines are:

- Oral presentations: July 1st

- Posters: August 15th


We kindly ask for your help in spreading the word among your students, postdocs, colleagues, and friends. We especially encourage submissions from junior researchers to promote interaction between researchers of all levels and facilitate potential collaborations.

We're looking forward to meeting you and the bio-control community online at the workshop.

Do not hesitate to contact us by email should you have questions or comments. Please also consider joining our Slack server, our mailing list and our Youtube channel, or registering to our calendar on our ResearchSeminar page to follow our Seminar Series on Biological Control Systems

Best regards,

The Organizing Committee:

Corentin Briat, Ross Jones, Heidi Klumpe, Jean-Baptiste Lugagne, Yili Qian, and Christian Cuba Samaniego